DIY Turbo Discussion greddy on a 1.8? homebrew kit?

Miata Turbo!!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2007, 01:02 AM
I'm Miserable!

Total Cats: 0
Default Miata Turbo!!!

I'm really new to turbo, but i've been driving miatas for awhile. All i want to ask you guys who knows alot about miata turbo is some questions i have about turbo. Is it reliable to put turbo on a miata? Like will the miata's 1.8L engine be able to handle the turbo w/o having much problems assuming the turbo is put on by professionals with tuning? Cuz i heard this guy said mazda engine have problems, and once it does it gets fucked up, so putting turbo on will just make the problem worst?? Well i dont really know so give me some insights those of you that drive turbo miata, you guys encounter any mechanical problems with your car after putting turbo on?
Leave a poscat 0 Leave a negcat
Old 10-04-2007, 01:12 AM

The tune is going to be what makes it reliable. If not, you get knock, and the engine goes boom. Going by what the name of the site is, I would say that it is reliable enough.
Old 10-04-2007, 01:14 AM

Check out the FAQ section and many of your questions will be answered. The Miata (MX-5, Eunos Roadster) engine is more than reliable and strong enough to handle forced induction. With the right tuning, the engine will give you many miles of pleasure. I'm currently running 9 pounds off boost on a 1.6l engine with stock internals. I have fitted an aftermaket ECU and 330cc injectors, other then bigger brakes and a Torsen LSD she is pretty much stock.

J
Old 10-04-2007, 08:33 AM
Elite Member

Total Cats: 322

Read this: https://www.miataturbo.net/diy-turbo-discussion-14/diy-faq-all-your-answers-one-big-post-4288/

Don't ever listen to anything your friends tell you about cars ever again.